Flagey is famous for the quality of its audio installations and for its perfect acoustics. It organizes and welcomes many events through the year.
Flagey used to belong to the INR (National Institute for Broadcasting). It was built in 1930 by the architect Joseph Diongre.
He was praised by a jury for respecting perfectly the acoustics and technical requirements of the project.
Flagey has several nicknames. It is called “Le Paquebot”, meaning "the liner", due to the shape of the building. And because of its internationally famous quality studios, it is also called “L’usine à sons” (“The Sound Factory”).
It was a very renowned building in the world of music, until 1953, when TV appeared and Flagey became an important audio-visual centre.
Still, in 1974, the INR decided to leave. Then it was occupied by cultural institutions until 1995 when it was closed.
The Radio Flagey House was created on June, 30th 1998 in order to save and restore the building taking possession of it.
Thirty Belgian companies helped the building get its cultural splendour.
It now has advanced installations and can organize and welcome concerts, movie broadcasting, music recording, conferences, congresses or festivals.
Don’t hesitate to discover our 4-star hotel in Brussels European Quarter, close to the city centre and to the public transport.
Flagey - Brussels
Rue du Belvedere 27
Phone: +32 2 641 10 10
Discover more about this amazing building on the Flagey website.